BLM photo contest winners announced

January: Kent A. LeFevre
January: Kent A. LeFevre

BLM NEWS — The Bureau of Land Management (BLM), Nevada has selected the winners of the Nevada 150 Photo Contest. The contest is a part of BLM’s participation in Nevada’s 150th Year Sesquicentennial. The photos highlight adventures, activities and historic sites on public lands.

The winners were selected from over 300 entries and will be featured in a calendar and displayed on social media and other venues. The photos were judged on originality, artistic composition, technical quality, photographic technique, and whether the photograph showcases the best of BLM Nevada.

“We were amazed with the photos that people sent in since they showed not only some familiar sites but images that people don’t think of when they think of Nevada,” said Barb Keleher, BLM Nevada outdoor recreation planner who is heading up the BLM’s Nevada 150th celebration team.

Winning photos from the contest were:

Cover: Jamey Pyles
January: Kent A. LeFevre
February: Michelle Jetzer
March: Ali Smith
April: Michael Balen
May: Chip Carroon
June: Shanell Owen
July: David Walker
August: Dominic Gentilcore
September: Scott Mortimore
October: John Boehmke
November: Dennis Doyle
December: Cheryl Hobbs


About ThisIsReno 12656 Articles
ThisisReno is your source for online Reno news and events since 2009. We are locally owned and operated. #thisisReno