Home > Featured > VIDEO: Reno City Council highlights, IBM grant and more

VIDEO: Reno City Council highlights, IBM grant and more

By ThisIsReno
City of Reno Logo


The Reno City Council held its regularly scheduled meeting yesterday. Below are some highlights from the meeting.

• Agenda Item C.2 and C.3

City of Reno LogoWith the focus on serving the community, trying to resolve the on-going dispute, and working towards a regional fire service, the City Council voted to send the Truckee Meadows Fire Protection District Board of Fire Commissioners an offer that would:

1. Settle the financial true-ups related to the First Amended Interlocal Agreement for Fire Services and Consolidation between the City of Reno and the Truckee Meadows Fire Protection District in the amount of $400,000;

2. Outline that all prior issues relating to the Interlocal Agreement are resolved with the exception of those that are identified as surviving Interlocal Agreement; and

3. Provide Automatic Aid between the two entities for 12 months in limited areas (areas to be determined).

True-ups are a financial reconciliation of the costs associated with the operation of the former consolidated fire department between the Reno Fire Department and the Truckee Meadows Fire Protection District. The City of Reno had determined that Washoe County owed the City up to $3 million but Washoe County had disputed that amount.

Automatic Aid is an automatic response by both agencies at the time of dispatch that augments service delivery and assures that the closest resources respond to an emergency regardless of jurisdiction.

• Agenda Item E

The Honorable Judge Jay Dilworth performed the Oath of Office and Swearing-in of the newly elected officials for the City of Reno. The newly elected officials are:

City Council Member At-Large: Hillary Schieve

City Council Member Ward 1: Jenny Brekhus

City Council Member Ward 3: Oscar Delgado

City Council Member Ward 5: Neoma Jardon

Reno Municipal Court Judge: William Gardner

• Agenda Item G

The Reno City Council elected Ward 2 Council Member Sharon Zadra as Vice Mayor. Each year, the Council appoints a Vice Mayor who serves as acting Mayor in the Mayor’s absence. Zadra takes the reigns from the previous Vice Mayor, outgoing Ward 5 Council Member Dave Aiazzi.

Share via
Send this to a friend