38.9 F

Five local students honored with WIN Youth Leadership scholarships


Local high school students to receive scholarship awards at the 2012 WIN Lecture Series Dinner.

WIN will present five local high school seniors with the WIN Youth Leadership Scholarship award at the 26th annual WIN Lecture Series Dinner, one of the region’s foremost business networking events. The WIN Lecture Series Dinner raises funds for the operations of WIN and the Youth Leadership Scholarships and will be held on Thursday May 10, 2012 at The Atlantis Resort & Spa Grand Ballroom.

The 2012 Gold Level Sponsors are Barrick Gold of North America and Nevada State Bank, who is returning as a sponsor for the twelfth consecutive year.  AT&T is a  Silver Level Sponsor of the scholarships. Sponsored by Q&D Construction, the annual dinner will also feature keynote speaker Mary Robinson, the first female president of Ireland.

The 2012 Youth Leadership Scholarship recipients are:

Kendall Burchard, Reno High School
Samuel Canino, Incline High School
Kirsten Casey, Spanish Springs High School
Laura Whitfield Hayes, Sage Ridge School
Aaron Laughbridge, North Valleys High School

The $2,000 Youth Leadership Scholarships recognize outstanding high school students who have demonstrated the ability to lead others in endeavors that have improved their community and their schools in observable, measurable and meaningful ways.

To purchase tickets or for more information, contact WIN at 775-359-7117 or visit www.WINevada.com.


This Is Reno is your source for award-winning independent, online Reno news and events since 2009. We are locally owned and operated.