Home > News > Government > Governor names chairman to Nevada Tax Commission

Governor names chairman to Nevada Tax Commission

By Bob Conrad


image002CARSON CITY — Governor Jim Gibbons has elevated Nevada Tax Commissioner Robert Barengo to the position of Chairman of the Nevada Tax Commission. Mr. Barengo is an attorney in Reno, Nevada and is a former Speaker of the Nevada State Assembly. His record of public service in Nevada includes serving on the Nevada Tax Commission since 2003, serving as a member of the Nevada Insurance Commission (1996-2003), serving in the Nevada Assembly (1972-1982) and serving as a member of the City of Reno Financial Advisory Board (1988-1991).

The Nevada Tax Commission sets policy for the Department of Taxation. It consists of eight citizens appointed by the Governor. In addition, the Governor is an ex-officio, non-voting member. The Tax Commission is intended to be a group of business people with various professional backgrounds who provide oversight for the administration and operations of the Nevada Department of Taxation.

Related Stories

%d bloggers like this: