Feemster To Be Sworn in as President of NAACP for Fifth Term

Lonnie Feemster. Image: Reno-Sparks NAACP.
Lonnie Feemster. Image: Reno-Sparks NAACP.

Lonnie Feemster will be sworn in to his record-breaking fifth non-consecutive two-year term as president of the Reno-Sparks NAACP this Thursday, January 10, 2019.

Other newly-elected officers not previously inducted will also be installed. He succeeds Patricia Gallimore who served two terms, 2014-2018.

“I am committed to build on the strong foundation laid by those who have served the Reno-Sparks NAACP over the years,” Feemster said.

“We had a very active and successful 2018 and thanks to the efforts of all involved, the Reno-Sparks Branch now enjoys the highest visibility in its 74-year history,” he added.

“We will use 2019 to ramp up our community outreach programs as the 2020 election season and U.S. Census approach,” Feemster stated. He served as a statewide community outreach specialist in the 2000 and 2010 census campaigns.

“The NAACP has mentored many young adults over the years and I will bring some into leadership roles in the local branch. We will continue to provide scholarships, positive learning experiences and leadership development as part of our NAACP Youth Council activities,” he said. “The Reno-Sparks NAACP will continue and increase our work to collaborate with our school district, local governments, law enforcement and the corporate community in Northern Nevada. We will also monitor legislation and work with other organizations in the upcoming session of the Nevada Legislature.

“We strongly support professional development training and a proactive approach to the elimination of racial bias and all aspects of racial discrimination in our community,” Feemster added.

He noted with concern a recent increase in the number of civil rights complaints being reported to the Branch Legal Redress Committee.

Feemster is a local real estate broker, Nevada State Director of the NAACP National Voter Fund, and Vice-President of the NAACP Idaho/Nevada/Utah Tri-State Conference of Branches.

The membership meets on the second Thursday of each month in the Third Floor Community Room of Northern Nevada HOPES, 580 W. 5th Street at Ralston Avenue. The Executive Committee convenes at 6:30 p.m. and the general membership meeting starts at 7 p.m.

2019-2020 OFFICERS

  • Lonnie L. Feemster, President
  • Andrew L. Barbano, First Vice-President
  • Patricia Y. Gallimore, Second Vice-President
  • Donald Gallimore, Sr., Third Vice-President
  • Cheryl (Cheri) Vocelka, Secretary
  • Ms. CJ Miller, Assistant Secretary
  • Stephanie McCurry, Treasurer
  • Shannon Gallimore, Assistant Treasurer


  • Lucille Adin, Twice Past-President
  • Ken Dalton, Past-President*
  • Norris Dupree, Jr., Ph.D.
  • Duane Foster
  • Terrell Foster, Ph.D.
  • Toni Harris
  • Dorothy Ingraham
  • Adrian Lowry
  • Jane Moon
  • Bertha Mullins
  • Joyce Newman
  • Wendell Newman
  • Janet Serial
  • Nnedi Stephens
  • John Aaron White, Esq.
  • Ambassador Victor Wowo, Sr.

*Former President Dalton was recently appointed to the City of Reno Civil Service Commission upon which former Branch President William Moon (1932-2017) served with distinction.

Story courtesy of Andrew Barbano, Reno-Sparks NAACP.

About ThisIsReno 13114 Articles
ThisisReno is your source for online Reno news and events since 2009. We are locally owned and operated. #thisisReno