Home > News > Four Reno Council Members, Three Judges Sworn In

Four Reno Council Members, Three Judges Sworn In

By Carla O'Day
Neoma Jardon

Neoma Jardon, with her husband, is sworn into her second term. Photo: Carla O’Day

Carla O’Day

The Reno City Council on Wednesday canvased election returns as four council members and three judges were sworn in during a ceremony at City Hall.

Councilwoman Jenny Brekhus faced a tough challenge but was re-elected to a second four-year term in Ward 1, defeating local attorney Victor Salcido 53.4 percent to 46.6 percent.

“When you run two campaigns as I have, underfunded to your opposition, your reliance is really upon a broad conglomeration of committed supporters and volunteers,” Brekhus said. “I’ve had so many and I appreciate all the investment, trust and faith you’ve put in me over the last few years now.”

David Bobzien

David Bobzien, with son Luca. Photo: Carla O’Day

Voters retained Councilman David Bobzien, who holds the at-large seat. He defeated Sam Kumar by 68.1 percent to 31.1 percent. Bobzien was appointed to the council two years ago when then-councilwoman Hillary Schieve was elected mayor.

“This was a very special election because my whole family was involved this time,” said Bobzien, with his elementary school-aged son alongside him. “It was wonderful to have them be a part of this and be at an age where they understood what was going on—following the issues, following politics nationally and locally—and we got to knock on some doors.”

Councilman Oscar Delgado ran unopposed in Ward 3 and Councilwoman Neoma Jardon was unopposed in Ward 5. Both are starting their second terms.

In the Reno Municipal Court Department 2 contest, Shelly O’Neill defeated Charles Woodman 56.7 percent to 43.3 percent. O’Neill replaces retiring Judge William Gardner.

“As an elected official, particularly a judge, you’re not allowed to make a promise,” O’Neill said. “But I want to promise that I will treat everyone with respect and fairness. They will know that when they come out of my courtroom, they will have heard someone who listened to them; and even if they were ruled against, they’ll know they were treated fairly.”

Judge Dorothy Nash Holmes in Department 3 was re-elected without opposition to a second term and attorney Tammy Riggs ran unopposed for the Department 4 seat. Judges serve six years on the bench.

[clickToTweet tweet=”Four Reno Council Members, Three Judges Sworn In” quote=”Four Reno Council Members, Three Judges Sworn In”]

Related Stories