75 F

Ebola task force members appointed


CARSON CITY — After receiving direction from Governor Brian Sandoval to create an Ebola Advisory Task Force, the Nevada Department of Health and Human Services Director, Romaine Gilliland, today announced member appointments.

The advisory task force will be Chaired by State Chief Medical Officer, Dr. Tracey Green, and Vice-chaired by State Chief Division of Emergency Management – Homeland Security, Chris Smith. The task force has been established to ensure the state’s readiness, develop effective communication plans, and make recommendations through the DHHS Director to the Governor for further action. The first meeting is anticipated to be scheduled Wednesday, October 29, and will be posted in compliance with Open Meeting Law. Deputy Attorney General, Linda Anderson, will provide legal counsel to the task force.

Ebola Advisory Task Force Members:

  • Dr. Tracey Green, MD – Chair, Chief Medical Officer, State of Nevada
  • Chris Smith – Vice Chair, Chief, Division of Emergency Management – Homeland Security, State of Nevada
  • Dr. Dale Carrison, MD – Chief of Staff, University Medical Center, Medical Director Clark County Fire Dept. and Metro
  • Dr. Jasmine Dhindsa, MD – Infectious Disease MD, Chairman of Infection Control, Renown Health System
  • Dave Fogerson – Deputy Fire Chief/Deputy Emergency Management Director Douglas County
  • Romaine Gilliland – Director, Department of Health and Human, State of Nevada
  • Joan Hall, RN – President, Nevada Rural Hospital Partners
  • Dr. Joseph Iser, MD – Chief Health Officer, Southern Nevada Health District
  • Dr. Scott Lamprecht, DNP, APRN – President, Nevada Nurses Association
  • Dr. Trudy Larson, MD – Infectious Disease MD; School of Community Health Sciences, UNR; NV State Public Health Lab
  • Dr. Dan McBride, MD – Regional, Chief Medical Officer, Valley Health System, Nevada
  • Jim Owens – Deputy Chief, Homeland Security Division, Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department
  • Dr. Susan Pintar, MD – Health Officer, Carson City and Douglas County Health Department
  • Dr. David Slattery, MD – Deputy, Chief of EMS, and Medical Director, Las Vegas Fire and Rescue
  • Dr. Randall Todd, DrPH – Director, Epidemiology and Public Health Preparedness, Washoe County Health District
  • Rosemary Vassiliadis – Director of Aviation, Clark County Department of Aviation
This Is Reno is your source for award-winning independent, online Reno news and events since 2009. We are locally owned and operated.