47.1 F

University recognizes scholars’ success in nationally competitive fellowships


block_n-5642427-2116614A growing number of University of Nevada, Reno students are vying for nationally competitive academic honors. The University’s Honors Program will pay tribute to Steven DelaCruz, Eman Jabali, Paige DePolo, Malorie Morrill, Nolan Nicholson, Ivon Padilla-Rodriguez and Miwako Schlageter as candidates for the nationally competitive fellowships (Goldwater, Madison, Truman and Udall) and the Critical Language Scholarship. Padilla-Rodriguez’s designation as one of Glamour magazine’s Top 10 College Women of 2014 will also be recognized.

“These seven students have all worked tremendously hard to get to the point they are at today,” Tamara Valentine, honors program director at the University, said. “The fellowships they’ve applied to are tremendously competitive and further positions the work at this Tier 1 university that offers a rich college experience in a personalized setting.”
WHAT: A reception recognizing student candidates for nationally competitive fellowships, scholarships and designations
WHO: Honors Program students, University President Marc Johnson, Executive Vice President and Provost Kevin Carman, University advisors, mentors and students will be present at the event
WHEN: 1 p.m., Tuesday, April 15. Members of the media are encouraged to arrive for set up by 12:45 p.m.
WHERE: Honors Program Department, Jot Travis Building, first floor
PARKING: Media can park in the parking lot of the Davidson Academy, off Virginia Street, just south of Artemisia Way. If not in a marked vehicle, place media credentials on the dash
This Is Reno is your source for award-winning independent, online Reno news and events since 2009. We are locally owned and operated.