74.6 F

Hekking named to Watch List for Ted Hendricks Award


image001-150x137-9545781-4219668RENO, Nev. – Nevada’s Brock Hekking has been named to the Watch List for the Ted Hendricks Defensive End of the Year Award, the Ted Hendricks Foundation announced today.

Hekking, a first-team Preseason All-Mountain West pick, led Nevada in both tackles for loss (10.0) and sacks (8.0) last year. He was third in the conference, and tied for 41st nationally, in sacks per game. The 6-foot-4, 255-pounder was a 2012 second-team All-Mountain West selection.

The Vacaville, Calif., native is one of just 22 players on the Watch List and one of just two from the Mountain West Conference.

The Ted Hendricks Award is named in honor of college football’s first three-time first-team All-American. His professional career spanned 15 years and 215 consecutive games. It included four Super Bowl victories, eight Pro Bowl selections and inductions into the College and Pro Football Halls of Fame. On-field performance, exceptional winning attitude, leadership abilities, contributions to school and community and academic preparedness are some of the criteria used to determine the award’s winner. Members of the national media, head coaches, professional scouts and former winners are included in the award’s voting committee. Candidates may represent any class as well as any four-year NCAA accredited school.

Previous recipients of the Hendricks Award include: 2002 – Terrell Suggs (Arizona State), 2003-04 – David Pollack (Georgia), 2005 – Elvis Dumervil (Louisville), 2006 – LaMarr Woodley (Michigan), 2007 – Chris Long (Virginia), 2008 – Brian Orakpo (Texas), 2009 – Jerry Hughes (TCU), 2010 – Da’Quan Bowers (Clemson), 2011 – Whitney Mercilus (Illinois) and 2012 – Jadeveon Clowney (South Carolina).

The 2013 winner will be announced on December 11.

This Is Reno is your source for award-winning independent, online Reno news and events since 2009. We are locally owned and operated.