49.7 F

Fajardo named to watch list for Johnny Unitas Golden Arm award


image001-150x137-4873053-1657741RENO, Nev. – Nevada junior Cody Fajardo was named Thursday to the Watch List for the 2013 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award.

Established in 1987, the award is presented at the end of each season to the nation’s top college quarterback based on character, citizenship, scholastic achievement, leadership, qualities, and athletic accomplishments. Candidates must be a college senior or fourth-year junior on schedule to graduate with their class.

A second team All-Mountain West selection in 2012, Fajardo has accounted for 6,308 yards of total offense so far in two seasons at Nevada. Last year, Fajardo threw for 2,786 yards and 20 touchdowns with just nine interceptions while rushing for 1,121 yards and 12 more scores.

Fajardo is one of just 30 quarterbacks on the list and one of four from the Mountain West.

This is the fourth watch list for the 6-foot-2, 210-pound quarterback. He has previously been named to the watch lists for the Hornung Award (most versatile player), Maxwell Award (player of the year) and Davey O’Brien Award (top national quarterback). He was named by The Heisman Pundit as a Hesiman Trophy contender earlier this year.

Past standout winners of the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award include: Peyton Manning (Tennessee, 1997); Carson Palmer (USC, 2002); Eli Manning (Ole Miss, 2003); Brady Quinn (Notre Dame, 2006); Matt Ryan (Boston College, 2007); Colt McCoy (Texas, 2009); and Andrew Luck (Stanford, 2011). Last year’s winner, Collin Klein of Kanas State, was a 2nd Team All-American (AP) and the 2012 Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year (AP).

2013 Top 30 Watch List for the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award

Blake Bortles, UCF

Tajh Boyd, Clemson

Kolton Browning, ULM

Kain Colter, Northwestern

Derek Carr, Fresno State

Jeff Driskel, Florida

Cody Fajardo, Nevada

David Fales, San Jose State

James Franklin, Missouri

Cody Green, Tulsa

Brendon Kay, Cincinnati

Taylor Kelly, Arizona State

Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois

Sean Mannion, Oregon State

Taylor Martinez, Nebraska

Jeff Mathews, Cornell

Andrew Maxwell, Michigan State

AJ McCarron, Alabama

Stephen Morris, Miami

Aaron Murray, Georgia

Keith Price, Washington

Bryn Renner, North Carolina

Chase Rettig, Boston College

Corey Robinson, Troy

Tyler Russell, Mississippi State

Connor Shaw, South Carolina

Joe Southwick, Boise State

Tyler Tettleton, Ohio

Logan Thomas, Virginia Tech

Keith Wenning, Ball State

This Is Reno is your source for award-winning independent, online Reno news and events since 2009. We are locally owned and operated.