51.7 F

Wimberly on Biletnikoff watch list


image001-1130505-7481901RENO, Nev. – Nevada senior wide receiver Brandon Wimberly has been named to the Watch List for the Biletnikoff Award, given annually to the nation, the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation announced Tuesday.

A first-team All-Mountain West selection in 2012, Wimberly led Nevada with 70 catches for 845 yards to go along with four touchdowns. He was third in the MW in receptions per games and fifth in the conference in yards per game. For his career, Wimberly has 164 receptions for 2,060 yards and 10 scores.

Wimberly has caught a pass in 40 consecutive games – all 40 games of his career – which is the longest active streak in the nation. He has also started 37 games in his career, which is tied for the 11th-longest streak in the nation entering the season.

Wimberly is one of just five Mountain West players on the list.

The Biletnikoff Award recognizes the outstanding receiver in college football. The award recipient is selected by the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee, a group of over 200 prominent college football journalists, commentators, and former receivers. The 2013 Biletnikoff Award winner will be presented live on Dec. 12 on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN.

The name Biletnikoff is synonymous with the term receiver. Fred Biletnikoff, a member of the pro and college football halls of fame, was an All-Pro receiver with the Oakland Raiders and an All-America receiver at Florida State University. He caught 589 passes for 8,974 yards and 76 touchdowns in his 14-year Raiders career from 1965 through 1978. Fred was the Most Valuable Player of Super Bowl XI.

The list:

Player                                   School                   Year

Jared Abbrederis             Wisconsin            SR

Davante Adams                                Fresno State      SO

Nelson Agholor                 USC                        SO

Alex Amidon                      Boston College  SR

Odell Beckham, Jr.           LSU                        JR

Kenny Bell                           Nebraska             JR

Michael Bennett              Georgia                                JR

Chris Boyd                           Vanderbilt           JR

Corey Brown                      Ohio State           SR

Aaron Burbridge               Michigan State  SO

Damiere Byrd                    South Carolina   JR

Michael Campanaro        Wake Forest      SR

Brandon Carter                 TCU                        JR

Brandon Coleman            Rutgers                                JR

Brandin Cooks                   Oregon State     JR

Amari Cooper                    Alabama              SO

Jamison Crowder             Duke                     JR

DaVaris Daniels                 Notre Dame       JR

Mike Davis                          Texas                    SR

Quinshad Davis                 North Carolina   SO

Titus Davis                           Central MichiganJR

Stefon Diggs                       Maryland             SO

Phillip Dorsett                    Miami                   JR

William Dukes                    FAU                       JR

Quinton Dunbar               Florida                  JR

Bruce Ellington                  South Carolina   JR

Mike Evans                         Texas A&M         SO

Shaquelle Evans                               UCLA                     SR

Austin Franklin                  New Mexico StateJR

Jeremy Gallon                   Michigan              SR

Keyarris Garrett                                Tulsa                      JR

Ryan Grant                         Tulane                  SR

Rashad Green                   FSU                        JR

Dorial Green-Beckham  Missouri               SO

Deontay Greenberry      Houston               SO

Noel Grigsby                      San Jose State   SR

Je’Ron Hamm                    Louisiana-MonroeSR

Justin Hardy                       East Carolina      JR

Chris Harper                       California             SO

Robert Herron                   Wyoming             SR

Cody Hoffman                   BYU                        SR

Josh Huff                             Oregon                 SR

T.J. Jones                             Notre Dame       SR

Cody Latimer                     Indiana                 JR

Marqise Lee                       USC                        JR

Jordan Leslie                      UTEP                     JR

Jordan Matthews            Vanderbilt           SR

J.D. McKissic                       Arkansas State  SO

Trey Metoyer                    Oklahoma           SO

Matt Miller                         Boise State         JR

Malcolm Mitchell             Georgia                                JR

Donte Moncrief                                Ole Miss               JR

Tracy Moore                      Oklahoma State                SR

Alex Neutz                          Buffalo                 JR

Kevin Norwood                                Alabama              SR

DeVante Parker                                Louisville              JR

Charone Peake                 Clemson              JR

Bernard Reedy                  Toledo                  SR

Tevin Reese                       Baylor                   SR

Paul Richardson                                Colorado              JR

Allen Robinson                  Penn State          JR

Shaq Roland                       South Carolina   SO

Alonzo Russell                   Toledo                  SO

Jalen Saunders                  Oklahoma           SR

Jaxon Shipley                     Texas                    JR

Tommy Shuler                   Marshall               SO

Devin Smith                        Ohio State           JR

Willie Snead                       Ball State             JR

Josh Stewart                      Oklahoma State                JR

Devin Street                       Pittsburgh           JR

Eric Thomas                        Troy                       SR

Jordan Thompson            West Virginia     FR

Eric Ward                             Texas Tech          SR

Sammy Watkins                                Clemson              JR

Brandon Wimberly          Nevada                                SR


This Is Reno is your source for award-winning independent, online Reno news and events since 2009. We are locally owned and operated.




The Cheese Board debuts Sunday brunch in south Reno

The Cheesboard offers dining in two Reno locations and has expanded weekend hours of their decadent charcuterie boards.