38.5 F

Nevada has 78 student-athletes on 2013 Spring Academic All-Mountain West Team


image001-1147492-3768677RENO, Nev. – A total of 78 University of Nevada student-athletes representing nine sports were named Thursday to the spring 2013 Academic All-Mountain West Team.

The team represents swimming and diving, track and field, baseball, softball, women’s basketball, women’s tennis , men’s tennis,  men’s golf and women’s golf.

To be eligible for selection, student-athletes must have completed at least one academic term at the member institution while maintaining a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or better, and be a starter or significant contributor on their athletic team.

Nevada’s swimming and diving team led the honorees with 22 student-athletes selected: Lauren Allen, Jennifer Arnold, Melina Blondfield, Monica Capozzo, Jocelin Drennan, Jessica Fontaine, Michelle Forman, Misha Fotoohi, Erin Fuss, Michelle Hahl, Melanie Larson, Katelyn Lawson, Nicole Longland, Mengjiao Mi, Rachel O’Connor, Kaelie Reviglio, Kaitlin Sartini, Raquel Teran-Sanchez, Chavisa Thaveesupsoonthorn, Erika Twenge, Lauren Alaina Vessie and Luiza Vieira.

The Wolf Pack track and field team had 15 honorees: Deborah Amoah, Samantha Calhoun, Caitlin Devitt-Payne, Samantha Diaz, Angelica Earls, Shannon Forman, Mariah Gramolini, Casey Gray, Baylee Hearns, Demerey Kirsch, Anita Momodu, Julie Pedersen, Alison Powers, Christina Works and Alyssa Zunino.

Nevada had 10 baseball players selected:  Lance Berringer, Michael Fain, Thomas Jameson, Scott Kaplan, Brooks Klein, Daniel Levine, Shaun Mize, Jamison Rowe, Ryan Teel and Adam Whitt.

Eight softball players made the team: Chelsea Barilli, Caylin Campbell, Megan Dortch, Megan Fincher, Erin Jones, Lauren Lastrapes, Molly McWilliams and Sara Parsons.

The Wolf Pack women’s basketball team had seven honorees: Emily Burns, Aja Johnson, Faith Lois, Mimi Mungedi, Danika Sharp, Julia Shelbourn and Arielle Wideman.

Women’s tennis was represented on the team by five student-athletes: Caroline Konigsfeldt, Juliette Legendre, Monika Magusiak, Rymma Maslova and Emma Verberne. The men’s team also had five honorees: Robert Allan, Moez Echargui, Andrew Poustie, Nathan Reix and Fernando Sunago.

The Nevada women’s golf team had four honorees: Caryn Khoo, Nicole Prichard, Carly Simpson and Bethany Wurster. The men’s golf team had two honorees: Andrew Cornella and Taylor Knoll.

This Is Reno is your source for award-winning independent, online Reno news and events since 2009. We are locally owned and operated.