53.8 F

59 local women to be honored at Salute to Women of Achievement luncheon



NWFlogoFifty-nine local women will be honored on Thursday, May 30, at 11:30 a.m. at John Ascuaga’s Nugget for the 2013 Salute to Women of Achievement luncheon.

The annual luncheon, presented by the Nevada Women’s Fund and now in its 22nd year, serves as a recognition event for women in the region for their professional, personal and community achievements.

Honorees are individually sponsored and will participate in a day of professional development and activities and a recognition luncheon to honor them.

The 2013 honorees are listed below with their sponsoring organizations:

  • Laurie Ann Acton DGSJ
    President, St. Ives Floral Inc., sponsored by Knights of St. John, Sierras Commandry
  • Jamie Ahdunko
    Vice President, Banking Center Manager, Bank of America
  • Praveen Ah Sam
    Assistant Vice President/Branch Manager, First Independent Bank
  • Jana Benton
    Senior Vice President, Small Business Sales Manager, Nevada State Bank
  • Carol Bond
    Realtor and TV Host, Dickson Realty
  • Dr. Laura Briggs
    Lab Coordinator, Division of Sciences, Truckee Meadows Community College
  • Cindy Clark
    Pit Floor Supervisor, Silver Legacy Resort Casino
  • Louise Cox (Weezie)
    Showroom Sales, Western Nevada Supply
  • Kelly Drake
    Branch Service Manager and Registered Client Associate, RBC Wealth Management
  • Tiffany East
    Vice President, Public Relations, The Glenn Group
  • Sharon Facque
    National Sales Manager, KTVN Channel 2 News
  • Danra Forshey
    Group Finance Manager, Microsoft
  • Kindra Fox
    Director of Curriculum and Instruction, WCSD, Sponsored by Sandra A. Daugherty Foundation
  • Shae Freitas
    5th Grade Teacher, Westergard Elementary School, Sponsored by Grant Thorton
  • Melissa Fritz
    Major Account Executive, NV Energy
  • Cindy Fuchs Felix
    Pastry Chef and Lead Cake Decorator, Eldorado Hotel Casino
  • Deborah Gilbert, RN
    Employee Health Service Manager, John Ascuaga’s Nugget
  • Mary Gore
    Director, Studio 1A Operations, IGT
  • Helen Graham
    President, Reno/Sparks Association of Realtors
  • Jessica Grant
    Region Operations Manager, Greater Reno Area, U.S. Bank
  • Gretchen Hofeling
    Vice President, Corporate Controller, EMPLOYERS®
  • Robin Hollen, RN
    Lactation Consultant, Renown Health
  • Neda Iranpour
    Morning News Anchor and Reporter, KTVN Channel 2 News
  • Diana Kern
    Trustee, Community Foundation of Western Nevada
  • Dorene Kinney
    Director, Underwriting Systems, EMPLOYERS®
  • Shawna Korgan
    Co-founder, Korg Movement, sponsored by The Abbi Agency
  • Denise Lenaburg
    Receptionist and Accounting Clerk, Fennemore Craig Jones Vargas
  • Johanna Leresche
    Accounting Manager, Western Surgical Group
  • Helen Lidholm, RN
    Chief Executive Officer, Saint Mary’s Regional Medical Center
  • Kara Matthew
    Vice President, Software Quality Engineering Services, IGT
  • Siobhan McAndrew
    Senior Reporter, RGJ Media
  • Christy McIntosh
    Senior Loan Processor, Guild Mortgage Company
  • Patti McClelland
    Vice-Chair, Education Committee for the Nevada Mining Association, sponsored by Nevada Mining Association
  • JoAnn Meacham, P.E.
    Senior Engineer, System Protection, NV Energy
  • Tiffany Meert
    Chief Operating Officer, Northern Nevada Medical Center
  • Hannah Menektos
    Sales Coordinator, Atlantis Casino Resort Spa
  • Claire Munoz
    Director, E. L. Cord Museum School, sponsored by Nevada Museum of Art
  • Heidi Nash
    Legal Assistant, Tahoe Resources Inc.
  • Courtney O’Mara
    Attorney, Lionel Sawyer & Collins
  • Kate Park
    Tax Director, Barnard Vogler & Co.
  • Virginia “Gin” Prentice
    Community Volunteer, sponsored by AT&T
  • Jerri Richardson
    Senior Vice President, Corporate Banking Team Leader, Nevada State Bank
  • Jennely Rodriguez Flores
    Safety Assistant, Minera San Rafael
  • Hillary Schieve
    Businesswoman, City Council Woman, sponsored by AT&T
  • Laura Schmidt
    Director of Human Resources, Bally Technologies Inc.
  • Carol Scott, M.D.
    Director, Sports Medicine and Physician, Student Health Center, University of Nevada, Reno
  • Kelly Scott
    Senior Editor for News, RGJ Media
  • Jessica Sebbo
    Account Supervisor, The Glenn Group
  • Irene Self
    Vice President/Fiduciary Advisory Specialist, Wells Fargo
  • Melissa Smith
    Manager, Provider Engagement, Saint Mary’s Health Plans
  • Ronnie Solaro
    Owner, Galena Medical Management, Sponsored by Renown Health
  • Cindy Thomas
    Cancer Concierge, Renown Health
  • Janette Townsend
    Chief Accounting Officer, Renown Health
  • Sharon Turner
    Assistant Vice President, Mortgage Origination Manager, Heritage Bank of Nevada
  • Anne Marie Utter
    Chairman, Links to Learning Program, Assistance League of Reno-Sparks
  • Linda Whitlock
    Human Resources Manager, Western Surgical Group
  • Jessica Woelfel
    Partner, McDonald Carano Wilson LLP
  • Sally Zanjani, Ph.D.
    University of Nevada, Reno, Sponsored by Nevada Women’s History Project
  • Kim Zimmermann
    Asst. Director of Marketing, Ceasars Entertainment, Harrah’s Lake Tahoe and Harveys Lake Tahoe

For more information or to purchase tickets, visit www.nevadawomensfund.org or contact the NWF at (775) 786-2335.

About Nevada Women’s Fund
For 30 years the Nevada Women’s Fund has championed the needs of women and children, helping them to reach their full potential. Our role is to bring together the community’s intellectual, emotional and financial resources to empower women for today and tomorrow. As we work to identify the issues that affect Nevada’s women and families and facilitate solutions, we recognize and celebrate the outstanding achievements of women in our communities and provide them with the resources they need to become our leaders.

This Is Reno is your source for award-winning independent, online Reno news and events since 2009. We are locally owned and operated.




Nevada Women’s Fund Awards Nearly $300,000

The Nevada Women's Fund (NWF) has contributed $291,117 in community grants and individual scholarships in the past year. This money has gone to 13...