58.5 F

Sandoval appoints members to sagebrush ecosystem council


governor-sandoval-official-portrait-feb-2011-200x300-5919374-4987231GOVERNOR’S OFFICE NEWS RELEASE

CARSON CITY — Governor Brian Sandoval today announced he has appointed twelve Nevadans – nine voting and three ex-Officio members – to the state’s Sagebrush Ecosystem Council. The Council will focus on implementing a strategy for precluding the listing of the Greater Sage-grouse on the Endangered Species List.

“Precluding the listing of the Greater Sage-grouse is of utmost importance to our state,” Governor Brian Sandoval said.  “I am pleased that each of these twelve Nevadans has agreed to work together to serve our state and ensure the continued survival of the Greater Sage-grouse.”

Created by Executive Order 2012-19, the Council will also be responsible for providing direction on conservation and land management policy and will oversee the work of the newly formed Sagebrush Ecosystem Technical Team, a full-time interagency initiative that will carry out policies set by the Council.

Members of the Council include: Doug Busselman, representing agriculture (Washoe County); Tina Nappe, representing conservation and the environment (Washoe County); Starla Lacey, representing energy (Clark County); Eureka County Commissioner JJ Goicoechea, representing local government (Eureka County); Allen Biaggi, representing mining (Douglas County); Jeremy Drew, representing sportsmen (Douglas County); Steven Boies, representing ranching (Elko County); Gerry Emm, representing Tribal Nations (Carson City); and Kent McAdoo, representing the general public (Elko County).  Each of these nine members is a voting member.

Non-voting, ex-Officio members of the Council are: Ted Koch, State Supervisor, U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service; Amy Lueders, State Director, U.S. Bureau of Land Management; and Bill Dunkelberger, Humboldt-Toiyabe Forest Supervisor, U.S. Forest Service.

This Is Reno is your source for award-winning independent, online Reno news and events since 2009. We are locally owned and operated.