65.2 F

Commission elects chairman, vice chairman for 2013



washoe-150x150-6452135-4518232At their first scheduled meeting of the New Year, Washoe County commissioners unanimously elected their chairman and vice chairman for 2013.

Commissioner David Humke, who represents District 2, was unanimously elected chairman of the Board of County Commissioners. Humke was first elected to the Washoe County Commission in 2002 and has served as the chairman of the BCC three previous times. He is a former Nevada assemblyman who served the 26th District of Nevada as a Republican from 1983 to 2002.

Humke is a member of the Nevada and Federal District Court of Nevada Bars, practicing primarily in the area of Indian law, and he serves as a tribal court judge and prosecutor. Humke also serves on the boards of the Reno Sparks Convention and Visitors Authority (RSCVA), the Nevada Association of Counties and the Truckee River Flood Management Authority.

Commissioner Bonnie Weber, who is currently serving her third term as a Washoe County Commissioner, was unanimously elected vice chairman of the BCC. Weber represents District 5, where she has resided for over 30 years, and this is her ninth time serving as vice chairman of the BCC. Weber also served as chairman in 2005. Her work for the community includes serving on the boards of the National Association of Counties, the Nevada Association of Counties, the Regional Transportation Commission and the RSCVA.

Newly elected commissioners Marsha Berkbigler, who represents District 1, and Vaughn Hartung, who represents District 4, were sworn in by Washoe County Clerk Amy Harvey, as was Reno Justice of the Peace Patricia Lynch and eight general improvement district trustees and members. The new commissioners join Kitty Jung, who represents District 3.

The appointments of commissioners to various boards and committees will be decided upon at tomorrow’s BCC meeting. For more information, visit www.washoecounty.us.


This Is Reno is your source for award-winning independent, online Reno news and events since 2009. We are locally owned and operated.