73.1 F

Nevada tight end Sudfeld a semi-finalist for 2012 John Mackey Award


Zach Sudfeld

The Nassau County Sports Commission, sponsored by Briarcliffe College, has announced eight semi-finalists for the 2012 John Mackey Award. Listed alphabetically, they are Jack Doyle (SR, Western Kentucky), Tyler Eifert (SR, Notre Dame), Zach Ertz (SR, Stanford), Gavin Escobar (JR, San Diego State), Joseph Fauria (SR, UCLA), Ryan Otten (SR, San Jose State), Austin Seferian-Jenkins (SO, Washington) and Zach Sudfeld (SR, Nevada).

The eight semi-finalists were determined by confidential balloting of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee. The 2012 John Mackey Award finalists will be announced on Monday, November 19, 2012 at www.johnmackeyaward.org. The website also features all Mackey Award related information including the John Mackey Selection Committee, the selection process and award criteria, information on all past award recipients and a high resolution image of the award trophy available for download.

The Nassau County Sports Commission, a non-profit, 501(c)(3) organization sponsored by Briarcliffe College, is responsible for the administration of the John Mackey Award and the John Mackey Award Selection Committee. For additional information, please visit www.johnmackeyaward.org or www.nassausports.org.

The John Mackey Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association’s official website, www.ncfaa.org.

2012 John Mackey Award Semi-Finalists
(alphabetical order)

Jack Doyle (SR, Western Kentucky)
Tyler Eifert (SR, Notre Dame)
Zach Ertz (SR, Stanford)
Gavin Escobar (JR, San Diego State)
Joseph Fauria (SR, UCLA)
Ryan Otten (SR, San Jose State)
Austin Seferian-Jenkins (SO, Washington)
Zach Sudfeld (SR, Nevada)

All-time John Mackey Award Recipients

2000 – Tim Stratton, Purdue
2001 – Dan Graham, Colorado
2002 – Dallas Clark, Iowa
2003 – Kellen Winslow II, Miami (FL)
2004 – Heath Miller, Virginia
2005 – Marcedes Lewis, UCLA
2006 – Matt Spaeth, Minnesota
2007 – Fred Davis, USC
2008 – Chase Coffman, Missouri
2009 – Aaron Hernandez, Florida
2010 – D.J. Williams, Arkansas
2011 – Dwayne Allen, Clemson

This Is Reno is your source for award-winning independent, online Reno news and events since 2009. We are locally owned and operated.