Home > News > Environment > Nevada Sierra Club endorses Nevada Assembly and Senate candidates

Nevada Sierra Club endorses Nevada Assembly and Senate candidates

By ThisIsReno

The Toiyabe Chapter of the Sierra Club representing Nevada and the Eastern Sierra Nevada of California has announced its list of endorsed candidates for Nevada Assembly and Senate. The endorsements follow an intensive and sometimes difficult process of written and direct interaction with candidates, at least two committee meetings and consideration of the candidates’ records.

“The individuals who have won our endorsement have shown a fundamental commitment to family and community health, which starts with the health of our environment,” said Chapter Chair Erik Holland. “We live in a tumultuous time in which some elected leaders are working to strengthen our tourism industry and recreational opportunities by establishing new Nevada national parks and protected wilderness, while others are attacking our fundamental right to clean air and water.

“Today more than ever we need champions in the fight to protect the public’s health and well-being,” Holland said.

On the Nevada state level, the Sierra Club has noted its disagreement with some legislators on several votes, including Senate Bill 271 – the infamous “Screw Tahoe” bill, which sets Nevada on a path to eliminate even the weak conservation protections for Lake Tahoe that exist within the existing California-Nevada interstate compact. However, endorsements were not based on any single vote. In some cases, the written or emailed follow-up responses to Sierra Club questions were the deciding factors in providing or withholding endorsements.

The Toiyabe Chapter of the Sierra Club, part of the largest and most influential grassroots environmental organization in the United States, has endorsed the candidates noted below. In the coming weeks additional endorsements will be announced.

Sierra Club Legislative Endorsements 2012

State Senate

SD1        Patricia Spearman

SD3        Tick Segerblom

SD5        Joyce Woodhouse

SD6        Benny Yerushalmi

SD9        Justin Jones

SD13      Debbie Smith

SD15      Sheila Leslie

SD18      Kelli Ross

State Assembly      

AD3        Peggy Pierce

AD5        Marilyn Dondero-Loop

AD8        Jason Frierson

AD9        Andrew Martin

AD10      Joe Hogan

AD11      Olivia Diaz

AD12      James Ohrenschall

AD13      Lou DeSalvio

AD14      Maggie Carlton

AD15      Elliot Anderson

AD16      Heidi Swank

AD17      Steven Brooks

AD18      Richard Carrillo

AD20      Ellen Spiegel

AD21      Andy Eisen

AD22      Randy Spoor

AD24      David Bobzien

AD27      Teresa Benitez-Thompson

AD28      Lucy Flores

AD29      April Mastroluca

AD30      Michael Sprinkle

AD31      Richard “Skip” Daly

AD35      James Healey

AD41      Paul Aizley

AD42      Irene Bustamante Adams

Related Stories