75.8 F

Nevada Conservation League releases 2012 legislative endorsements



LAS VEGAS – The Nevada Conservation League released its endorsements in the 2012 election today. The organization endorses pro-conservation candidates in state legislative races.

“We are confident that these candidates will place a high priority on protection of our natural resources,” said Scot Rutledge, executive director. “The Nevada Conservation League’s board of directors and staff are proud to stand behind the election of these candidates.”

These endorsements are issued after the evaluation of candidate questionnaires and in-person interviews, which focused on a broad range of conservation issues ranging from renewable energy to wildlife to protection of our state’s natural treasures. These endorsements follow the early endorsements that were issued in March. Endorsements were not considered for candidates running unopposed.

Among its endorsements, NCL is recommending Pastor Patricia Spearman in the June 12 primary for Senate District 1. Rutledge said Spearman recognizes the importance of clean air and water for healthy communities and will be a strong supporter for clean energy. Spearman is running in the Democratic primary against incumbent State Sen. John Lee.

In the 2011 Legislature, Lee sponsored SB 271, a bill that will remove Nevada from the Tahoe Regional Planning Compact in four years.

“Senator Lee pushed this legislation through without working with anyone in the environmental community. In fact this bill has been summarily rejected by the environmental community when it was introduced by then-Assemblywoman Sharron Angle in 2003,” Rutledge said.

The legislative endorsements for the 2012 election are as follows:

Patricia Spearman – Senate District 1
Kelvin Atkinson – Senate District 4
Joyce Woodhouse – Senate District 5
Benny Yerushalmi – Senate District 6
David Parks – Senate District 7
Justin Jones – Senate District 9
Aaron Ford – Senate District 11
Pete Goicoechea – Senate District 19

Jason Frierson – Senate District 8
Andrew Martin – Assembly District 9
Elliot Anderson – Assembly District 15
Heidi Swank – Assembly District 16
Ellen Spiegel – Assembly District 20
Lynn Stewart – Assembly District 22
Mike Sprinkle – Assembly District 30
James Healey – Assembly District 35
James Oscarson – Assembly District 36
Irene Bustamante Adams – Assembly District 42

This Is Reno is your source for award-winning independent, online Reno news and events since 2009. We are locally owned and operated.




Nevada Conservation League releases 2012 early endorsements

NCL NEWS RELEASELAS VEGAS – The Nevada Conservation League released its early endorsements in the 2012 election today. The organization endorses pro-conservation candidates in...