79 F

USDA designates two Nevada counties as primary natural disaster areas


The U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated 2 counties in Nevada as primary natural disaster areas because of damage and losses caused by wildfires that occurred during the period of September 30, through October 5, 2011. Those two counties are Elko and Humboldt. In accordance with 321(a) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act, Eureka, Lander, Pershing, Washoe and White Pine Counties are named as contiguous disaster areas.

In late November 2011, the local USDA Farm Service Agency finished loss assessments on all Nevada counties relating to natural disasters. As a result of these efforts, the assessments were forwarded to Governor Sandoval’s office and a request for drought designation was sent on December 22, 2011 to USDA in Washington, D.C.

“I am pleased that USDA Secretary Vilsack approved my request for disaster designation of Nevada counties affected by wildfire in 2011,” said Governor Brian Sandoval.

Jim Barbee, Director, Nevada Department of Agriculture concurred. “USDA has a variety of programs to help eligible Nevada producers recover from adversity caused by natural disaster. In this economy every piece of the puzzle counts.”

Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

This Is Reno is your source for award-winning independent, online Reno news and events since 2009. We are locally owned and operated.