62.1 F

Nevada higher education system announces pro bono lobbying team


Nevada News Bureau Staff: Chancellor Dan Klaich has announced the formation of a new lobbying team that will represent the Nevada System of Higher Education free of charge at the 2011 legislative session.

The team will be chaired by former U.S. Sen. Richard Bryan and will include Alfredo Alonso, Michael Hillerby, Rose McKinney-James, Keith Lee, John Pappageorge and The Capitol Company.

“We are fortunate to have a team of all-stars who have agreed to pro bono representation of Nevada’s higher education system,” Klaich said. “Each member has a long history of service to this state and a passionate belief that public colleges and universities are critical in not only reviving Nevada’s economy, but improving our way of life for generations to come.”

Marcia Turner, who currently serves in a leadership capacity with NSHE’s Health Sciences System, will be charged with the additional responsibility of managing the day-to-day efforts of the new legislative team.

The team will represent the Nevada System of Higher Education and its eight member institutions: College of Southern Nevada, Desert Research Institute, Great Basin College, Nevada State College, Truckee Meadows Community College, University of Nevada, Las Vegas, University of Nevada, Reno and Western Nevada College.

Bryan is a shareholder at Lionel Sawyer & Collins and is a member of the firm’s executive committee. He serves on the Board of Trustees of the Nevada Development Authority and is on the Board of Trustees of the Las Vegas Chamber of Commerce.

Bryan was elected twice as governor and served two terms in the U.S. Senate.

This Is Reno is your source for award-winning independent, online Reno news and events since 2009. We are locally owned and operated.