Home > News > Government > Governor appoints new member to State Board of Education

Governor appoints new member to State Board of Education

By ThisIsReno


CARSON CITY — Governor Jim Gibbons today appointed Adriana Fralick to the Nevada State Board of Education.  Ms. Fralick is presently Assistant General Counsel for the Nevada Public Utilities Commission.  She lives in Reno with her husband and two children.  Fralick’s professional past includes serving as General Counsel to the Governor’s Office and General Counsel to the Nevada Commission on Ethics.  She has also been involved in the Reno-Sparks Chamber Youth Leadership Program and has done pro bono work for the National Center for Missing and Exploited Children.

“I believe Adriana Fralick is the perfect choice for the Nevada State Board of Education,” Governor Gibbons said, “She is bright, intuitive and will be a terrific education advocate for Nevada children and parents”.

“I am proud and excited that Governor Gibbons has selected me for this post,” Fralick said, “Education is the cornerstone of our future and I look forward to working with the other members of the board to make sure there are opportunities for every Nevada child”.

Adriana Fralick will represent District 8 on the Nevada State Board of Education.  That seat was previously held by Ken McKenna, who resigned August 10, 2010.  Fralick will serve until the General Election in November of 2012.

The Nevada State Board of Education acts as an advocate and visionary for all children and sets the policy that allows every child equal access to educational services, provides the vision for a premier educational system and works in partnership with other stakeholders to ensure high levels of success for all in terms of job readiness, graduation, ability to be lifelong learners, problem solvers, citizens able to adapt to a changing world and contributing members of society.

The State Board of Education is comprised of ten members and a non-voting student representative; seven of the ten members are elected from Clark, Lincoln and Nye Counties (District 1 through 7); one member is elected from Washoe County (District 8); and two members are elected from the remaining thirteen counties of the State (Districts 9 and 10). Members are elected on a non-partisan ballot for four-year terms and are limited to three consecutive terms.

Never miss a story

Get independent Reno news headlines in your inbox five days a week.

Email field is required to subscribe.