49.3 F

43rd AGC SIR awards honor community leaders



A long-time leader in Northern Nevada’s construction/engineering community and a Nevada gaming pioneer were honored today during the Nevada Chapter Associated General Contractors’ 43rd SIR Award Banquet held at John Ascuaga’s Nugget in Sparks.

An acronym for the AGC motto, “Skill, Integrity and Responsibility,” the SIR Award is given to honor the men, women and organizations that have made outstanding contributions to Nevada, our quality of life and the construction industry. Originating with the Nevada Chapter in 1967, the SIR Award was adopted by AGC chapters nationwide, including the national office in Washington, D.C.

National award winners include Presidents Ronald Reagan and Gerald Ford along with educators, humanitarians, business leaders and many unsung heroes. During the four decades since the award’s inception, Nevada Chapter AGC has given out nearly 100 SIR Awards to individuals and firms that embody skill, integrity and responsibility.

Jim Gardner, Gardner Mechanical Engineers & University of Nevada
Jim Gardner is a Nevada pioneer in creating energy efficient buildings. He was also part of the pioneering team of engineers who propelled men to the moon with the Gemini and Apollo spacecraft. His work with energy conservation with the University Nevada Reno and through his firm Gardner Mechanical Engineers earned him awards from the Department of Energy, State of Nevada and Southwest Builder’s Association. Over more than 35 years, Gardner and the company he founded have earned distinction and recognition for their leadership and innovation.

William N. Pennington, Circus-Circus Enterprises/William N. Pennington Foundation
William N. Pennington has worn many hats–oil wildcatter, builder and developer and gaming innovator. In the late 1960s, he pioneered electronic gaming equipment and the concept of leasing to casinos and sharing a percentage of winnings. Looking for a casino to call his own, he began the partnership that would become Circus-Circus enterprise, eventually stretching from Las Vegas to Reno and to Laughlin. For the past 30 years, the William N. Pennington Foundation has been a leader in philanthropic contributions that helped build a better community, now and into the future. Millions of dollars have been contributed to Northern Nevada’s children and youth services, health care, higher education, and medical research. This includes the William Pennington Health Sciences Building at the University of Nevada, Reno.

Past SIR Recipients
2008: Bill Balsi, Sr., Jack Harker, Carole Vilardo
2007: Cherie Jamason, Michael C. Dermody, Ray Pezonella
2006: Dick Elmore, John R. Lindell, Paul A. Tholl
2005: Rick Reviglio, Vern Meiser, David W. Clark
2004: Dr. Noah Smernoff, Fred Taeubel, Bernice Mathews
2003: Margaret Cavin, Bob Cashell, Terry Markwell
2002: Piero Bullentini, Jeff Griffin, Pierre Hascheff
2001: John McCune, Leo Tuccori
2000: Lynn Atcheson, Jim Struemph
1999: Richard Bryan. Deane Shaver
1998: Ron and Susan Krump, Ben Caramella
1997: Marv Byars
1996: Tom and Jim Bahan, KTVN – Channel 2, Mills Lane, Brian Whalen
1995: Nazir Ansari, Edna Benna, Bruno Benna
1994: Joe Dini, Bill Raggio, Lud Corrao
1993: Grove Holcomb, Chris Ault
1992: Garth Dull, Norman Dianda, Garth Frehner
1991: Harry Reid, Joanne Oakes, Clark Gribben
1990: Carlo Panicari, Nevada Air National Guard
1989: Barbara Vucanovich, Jack Reviglio
1988: Rowland Oakes
1987: Robert L. Helms, Claude Howard, Chuck McGee, Howard Winn
1986: Ben Dasher, Clarence Jones
1985: Jim Thornton, Hank Gallues
1984: John Ascuaga, Robert Broadbent
1983: Peter Krenkel
1982: James Santini, Ernie Martinelli
1981: Everett Brunzell, E.W. McKenzie
1980: Moya Olsen Lear, Tom Reviglio
1979: Marv Picollo, Norm Cardoza, Wilson McGowan
1978: Marv Humphrey
1977: Bill Kottinger
1976: Ed Pine
1975: Paul Laxalt
1974: Joe Latimore, Ed Parsons
1973: John W. Brown
1972: Nevada Bell, Wilmer Isbell
1971: Bert Fitz
1970: John E. Bawden
1969: George Probasco, Raymond Hellmann, Fred Mast
1968: Neil Plath, Thomas Cooke, Robert Guinn
1967: Gus Rapone, W. T. Holcomb, Al Solari, Carl Dodge

Note: Dates listed are for the AGC calendar year. The SIR Awards are given out in the first quarter of the following year at the annual AGC meeting.

This Is Reno is your source for award-winning independent, online Reno news and events since 2009. We are locally owned and operated.




Associated General Contractors Honors Outstanding Community Members

Several community leaders were honored in February during the Nevada Chapter Associated General Contractors’ 49th Skill, Integrity, and Responsibility (SIR) Awards.Dick Trachok, Athletic Director Emeritus...