50.7 F

Northern Nevada Development Authority announces new president and board


News release:

CARSON CITY —  Teresa Shouppe began her two-year position of board president for Northern Nevada Development Authority (NNDA) on July 1. Shouppe is Nevada State Bank’s Vice President and Business Relationship Manager for its Dayton and two Carson City offices.

“As NNDA continues to attract new business to the Sierra Region, someone with Teresa’s expertise is extremely valuable,” Rob Hooper, executive director of NNDA said. “Her diverse background and outstanding knowledge within the financial industry will provide strong guidance as we look to building the region’s economic future.”

Shouppe served on the NNDA board of directors for the last three years and most recently was vice president for the 2008-2009 term. She has more than 25 years of banking experience and has been with Nevada State Bank for more than five years. Prior to that, Shouppe worked at Carson-Tahoe Regional Medical Center.

Shouppe is active in both the Carson City and Dayton area chambers of commerce. She earned an associate degree at Cochise College in Sierra Vista, Ariz. and is a graduate of the 2004 Leadership Carson City program. She has served on the board of directors for the Great Basin Sierra Multiple Sclerosis Society, the Huachuca Area American Heart Association and Mark Twain Elementary School’s PTA. Prior to moving to Nevada, she lived in Georgia, Alabama, Washington, Tennessee, Arizona and Stuttgart, Germany. Shouppe moved to Carson City in 1992 with her husband, Bob, and their two children.

Rafael Cappucci, outgoing 2008-2009 NNDA president, said “Teresa, along with the other executive board members, brings strong leadership skills that will enhance NNDA’s new direction. Teresa’s calm but professional manner will serve her well in steering the board and the NNDA investors to new heights.”

Alan Jurkonis, president of American AVK, serves as 2009-2010 NNDA board vice president. Jurkonis moved to Nevada in 2007 to open the AVK manufacturing plant in Minden. Newly elected board member Mike Riggs, founder and owner of Monarch Direct, LLC, has accepted the NNDA board position of secretary. Riggs has been a resident of Carson City since 1975 and is a graduate of Carson High School.

Additional new appointments to the 2009-2010 board include Eileen Webb, president of Streamline Consulting Services, Bruce Robertson, realtor/broker for Sperry Van Ness, and Bonnie Betts, financial advisor with Waddell & Reed.

Robertson and Betts take a seat on the NNDA board representing one of two recently established NNDA regional Action Advisory Councils. Robertson serves as chair of the Commercial Real Estate and Development Advisory Council and Betts chairs the Banking and Finance Advisory Council. These councils provide a direct link for NNDA with the various business industries within the Sierra Region and additional councils are forthcoming.

Other board members include:

· T. Michael Brown, manager for Douglas County

· Chuck Davies, retired

· Greg Evangelatos, manager for City of Fernley

· Kathy Halbardier, Nevada Small Business Development Center University of Nevada, Reno

· Harv Hornung, Nevada Heat Treating

· Ronele Klingensmith, president of RKPR Inc. Marketing and Public Relations

· Carol Lange, Western Nevada College

· Joe McCarthy, Carson City Development

· Bonnie Parnell, Nevada Assemblywoman

· Linda Ritter, Strategic Directions

· Russ Romine, Griffin Transport Services

· Christina Slade, Nevada JobConnect

· Dennis Stark, manager for Lyon County

· Pat Whitten, manager for Storey County

To learn more about NNDA or become involved with its economic development activities, contact Judi Bishop or Danny Campos at 775-883-4413.

Bob Conrad
Bob Conradhttp://thisisreno.com
Bob Conrad is publisher, editor and co-founder of This Is Reno. He has served in communications positions for various state agencies and earned a doctorate in educational leadership from the University of Nevada, Reno in 2011. He is also a part time instructor at UNR and sits on the boards of the Nevada Press Association and Nevada Open Government Coalition.